Highlights from 2017 Spring Banquet

Outstanding students, faculty, staff and community partners were celebrated at the Embassy Suites Denver Downtown on April 21, 2017. Nearly 150 attendees were on hand for the annual celebration.

James Eklund, former Director of the Colorado Water Conservation Board and chief author of the Colorado Water Plan, received the Leo C. Riethmayer Award. Named after the founder of the School of Public Affairs, this annual award recognizes Colorado’s top public administrator. James recently moved to an ‘Of Counsel’ role as water and infrastructure expert for Squire Patton Boggs in Denver. An interview with James was posted earlier this week.

Erik Estrada delivered a very moving and inspiring keynote address. Erik is the Senior Corporate Counsel at Level 3 Communications and a lecturer in the MPA program at the School of Public Affairs.

Based on nominations by the faculty, students were recognized for their achievements in several categories. A number of faculty and staff, along with lecturers, also were recognized for their contributions to the School of Public Affairs.

Photos from the event can be viewed in a slide show at the end of this post.

Outstanding Student Awards, Spring 2017

BACJ Outstanding Student
Katyie Wells

BACJ Outstanding Internship
Soukaina Latrache

MCJ Outstanding Student
Jessica Rosenthal

MPA Outstanding Student
Karen Ito

Ph.D. Outstanding Dissertation Award
David P. Carter

Certified Nonprofit Professional Credential
Emily Roth
Cheryl Mervich
Elizabeth Morgan
Melanie DeHerrera
Sonya Hansen
Kaite Borden
Kelly Camden
Alaina McWhorter

Pi Alpha Alpha Inductees
Carly Bernardini
Katie Borden
Melanie DeHerrera
Amy Dewitt-Smith
Brenda Dickhoner
Jil DiRito
Christopher Herr
Iain Hyde
Katie Jensen
Alaina McWhorter
Allison Moravec-Rice
Elizabeth Morgan
Diane Retz
Adam Rodriguez
Kurt Rorvik
Martin Schmidt

Alpha Phi Sigma Kappa Xi Inductees
Carly Bernardini
Daniel Caballero
Cara Chomey
Erin Haight
Geoffrey Keeling
Nathan McClintock
Keira Newburn
Isabella Perry
Victoria Rodriguez
Christopher Smith
Sumner True
Amanda Walker

Outstanding Staff Award, Spring 2017

Lauren Rogers, Director of Grants and Contracts

Faculty Awards

Todd Ely
Honorable Mentions: Chris Weible, Tanya Heikkila, Danielle Varda

Mary Dodge
Honorable Mentions: John Ronquillo, Eric Poole

Chris Weible
Honorable Mention: Todd Ely, Angela Gover

Non-Tenure Track Faculty Award For Teaching
Sheila Huss
Honorable Mention: Wendy Bolyard, Pamela Medina

Outstanding Lecturer Awards

Kim Hedberg (Public Administration)
Jack Reed (Criminal Justice)

Past Degree Program Directors

PhD Program
Peter deLeon, PhD Director 1997-2002 and 2008-2012
Paul Teske, PhD Director 2005-2008
Tanya Heikkila, PhD Director 2012-2015

MPA Program
Linda deLeon, MPA Director 1997-1999
Mary Guy, MPA Director 2008-2011
Christine Martell, MPA Director 2012-2016

MCJ Program
Mark Pogrebin, MCJ Director 1980-2007
Mary Dodge, MCJ Director 2007-2013
Callie Rennison, MCJ Director 2014-2016

BACJ Program
Mary Dodge, BACJ Director 2007-2011 and 2013
Angela Gover, BACJ Director 2011-2012 and 2014-2016

For students participating in the CU Denver commencement ceremony on May 13, SPA will host a reception immediately following commencement in Tivoli Student Union, Adirondacks Room. Family members and guests are welcome, and light refreshments will be served.

Congratulations graduates and awardees!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Alumni, Events, Students

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: