SPA PhD Students and Alums Doing Amazing Things This Semester!

David Carter

David Carter presented his research at the annual NASPAA meeting in October. He is one of just 4 students in the country awarded the Staats Emerging Scholar award.




Katrina Miller-Stevens, SPA PhD alum from 2009, has just accepted a position at Colorado College as Assistant Professor in the Economics and Business unit. She will focus on social entrepreneurship, nonprofits and cross-sector activities. Katrina was at Old Dominion University and doing very well there, but wanted to come back to Colorado.


DruryCurrent PhD student Ida Drury has accepted a faculty appointment at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. She will be housed at the Kempe Center, which is a collaborative center affiliated with Children’s Hospital Colorado. Her new projects include implementation of Differential Response in the state of Texas, evaluation of the Child Welfare Training System and Colorado Community Response for the State of Colorado, consulting for the National Capacity Building Center for Public Child Welfare Agencies, and analysis of Annie E. Casey’s KIDSCOUNT networks, led by SPA’s Danielle Varda.   Ida will remain in the doctoral program at SPA while she is working at the Kempe Center.  She just passed her preliminary exams this fall and is gearing up for her dissertation proposal.

JO SHOUP PhotoPhD student Jo Ann Shoup successfully defended her dissertation two weeks ago. Jo Ann’s dissertation is titled, “Concerns, Attitudes, Beliefs and Intentions of Parents about Vaccines for their Child: Development and Evaluation of a Survey Instrument in an Integrated Health Care System in Colorado.”    Mary Guy was her advisor.


Laurie M

PhD students Laurie Mandarino and Pat Lane (not pictured) will be defending their dissertations in November 2015.



Pattison.AndrewsmallAndy Pattison defended his dissertation, “Learning through Belief Change and Reinforcement: A Study of Coalitions in Climate and Energy Issues,” earlier this semester. Committee members were Chris Weible, Paul Teske, Tanya Heikkila, Debi Main (from the Department of Health & Behavioral Sciences) and Michele Betsill (from CSU’s Department of Political Science).

Categories: Alumni, Students

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: